[Robotgroup] Robot Group Logo.. is it ours??
Eric Lundquist
roboenator at gmail.com
Fri Sep 1 08:02:02 PDT 2006
A few points.
1) As far as I know The Robot Group has never registered the logo image as a
trademark with the USPTO.
2) The robot.hu image is not an exact ripoff. Just very similar. Seeing as
how our logo "borrows" heavily from Leonardo's work, why would we be upset
that someone else does something similar?
3) The robot.hu site is located in Budapest Hungary. What resources would
we use to get them to "cease and desist"?
Here is the whois entry for this site:
domain: robot.hu
org: org_name_eng: Robot Co.
org: org_name_hun: Robot Bt.
address: Farkasalma u. 5 fsz.2
address: H1103 Budapest
address: HU
phone: +36 1 4318716
fax-no: +36 1 4318717
hun-id: 0990604013
admin-c: 2000234071
tech-c: 2000234071
zone-c: 2000234071
domain_pri_ns: ns0.robot.hu[195.56.172.140]
registered: 1999.06.04 13:34:09
changed: 2003.03.23 10:39:56
registrar: 1000237052
person: Zywny KᲯly
address: J t鲠2. II. em.
address: 1061 Budapest
address: HU
phone: +36-20-2154969
fax-no: +36-1-4318717
hun-id: 2000234071
person: Zywny KᲯly
address: J t鲠2. II. em.
changed: 2003.03.23 10:39:56
registrar: 1000237052
person: Zywny KᲯly
address: J t鲠2. II. em.
address: 1061 Budapest
address: HU
phone: +36-20-2154969
fax-no: +36-1-4318717
hun-id: 2000234071
person: Zywny KᲯly
address: J t鲠2. II. em.
hun-id: 2000234071
org: org_name_eng: Robot Co.
org: org_name_hun: Robot Bt. (Registrar)
address: J t鲠2. II. em.
address: 1061 Budapest
address: HU
phone: +36-1-4318716
fax-no: +36-1-4318717
hun-id: 1000237052
%%REFERRAL END
- Eric
On 9/1/06, Vern Graner <vern at txis.com> wrote:
>
> Vern Graner wrote:
> > I noticed this today while searching for a graphic:
> >
> > http://www.robot.hu/
> >
> > So.. uh .. do we have to defend the logo for it to be ours?
> >
> > Vern
> >
> > ps: In case it changes, I've attached the picture to this email..
>
> Since the attachment didn't work, here's a direct link to the logo in
> question that I copied from the above site to my server:
>
> http://www.notepad.org/logo.jpg
>
> So, bottom line is they have "our" logo and are using it on their page.
> Comments from the board/concerned members? :)
>
> Vern
>
> --
> Vern Graner CNE/CNA/SSE | "If the network is down, then you're
> Senior Systems Engineer | obviously incompetent so why are we
> Texas Information Services | paying you? Of course, if the network
> http://www.txis.com | is up, then we obviously don't need
> Austin Office 512 328-8947 | you, so why are we paying you?" (c)VLG
> _______________________________________________
> Robotgroup mailing list
> Robotgroup at puremagic.com
> http://lists.puremagic.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/robotgroup
>
More information about the Robotgroup
mailing list