[Robotgroup] Robot Group Logo.. is it ours??

Def Egge robodigest at innervate.com
Fri Sep 1 10:55:58 PDT 2006


Hey!  Nice to see you in here again, Vadim.

I've got a call into my brother, an intellectual property attorney, for an
opinion regarding action.


All the best....

Mike



At 10:36 2006/09/01 -0700, you wrote:
>When it comes to contesting logos, one needs to be sure one in fact has
'prior art' before one starts contesting.  If the other party in fact has
the priority, one can be placed in the embarrassing position of having to
change ones own logo as a result of one's own 'defense' initiative.
> 
>Regardless, I think there is not much mechanism that a small US
not-for-profit can take to force a small Hungarian firm to change a logo.
Nor much need frankly.
> 
>A friendly note to their sysadmin saying "hey, did you know that your
business logo is very similar to ours?" might be appropriate.  But only if
we knew in advance that the RG had priority.
> 
>Oh, and given how much the RG logo is a derivative work in itself, would
it really be appropriate to argue?
>
>----- Original Message ----
>From: Vern Graner <vern at txis.com>
>To: vern at txis.com; Austin Robotgroup Mailing List <robotgroup at puremagic.com>
>Sent: Friday, September 1, 2006 9:46:05 AM
>Subject: Re: [Robotgroup] Robot Group Logo.. is it ours??
>
>
>Vern Graner wrote:
>> I noticed this today while searching for a graphic:
>> 
>> http://www.robot.hu/
>> 
>> So.. uh .. do we have to defend the logo for it to be ours?
>> 
>> Vern
>> 
>> ps: In case it changes, I've attached the picture to this email..
>
>Since the attachment didn't work, here's a direct link to the logo in 
>question that I copied from the above site to my server:
>
>http://www.notepad.org/logo.jpg
>
>So, bottom line is they have "our" logo and are using it on their page. 
>Comments from the board/concerned members? :)
>
>Vern
>
>-- 
>Vern Graner CNE/CNA/SSE    | "If the network is down, then you're
>Senior Systems Engineer    | obviously incompetent so why are we
>Texas Information Services | paying you? Of course, if the network
>http://www.txis.com        | is up, then we obviously don't need
>Austin Office 512 328-8947 | you, so why are we paying you?" İVLG
>_______________________________________________
>Robotgroup mailing list
>Robotgroup at puremagic.com
>http://lists.puremagic.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/robotgroup
>
>_______________________________________________
>Robotgroup mailing list
>Robotgroup at puremagic.com
>http://lists.puremagic.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/robotgroup
>


More information about the Robotgroup mailing list